November in review


Late October, Jon and I made a pact to lower our spending. We knew that the bulk of our spending was on food, specifically bought food. Half into the month, here’s what the food spending looks like:

  • $250 on groceries
  • $34 on take-out & delivery

I say, that’s great progress from us! Not all of $250 used up yet. I still have a few meals to cook, which can each generate 1 or 2 leftover meals.

Image from stlfamily.com

This Thanksgiving is the FIRST one we’ll celebrate as a family. Jon was not into the idea of celebrating it in NZ. It’s kind of hard to do that when you don’t have the rest of the country celebrating with you. We decided, because we like convenience, to buy prepared turkey, side dishes and a pecan pie for dessert. We got them from Whole Foods and will pick them up on Thanksgiving day. We could have chosen to buy enough for 2 adults and 1 toddler, but we went a bit crazy. 🙂 We are used to leftovers and I can be creative with them too. Total à la carte purchase was $133. I honestly did not want to get a turkey, even though we got the petite kind, because the idea of eating meat–and the same meat at that–for an undetermined amount of time sounds so gross to me. But Jon hasn’t had a decent Thanksgiving for more than 6 years I think.

Though we haven’t entirely used cash to spend, it’s obvious that it wasn’t the debit/credit cards that were the problem. I mean, they are not evil in the sense that they don’t magically swipe themselves at the counter. 🙂

I liberally budgeted $1k on food to cover every food purchase we’ll make this month. I’ve adjusted it since to $850 and will most likely keep adjusting as the month closes. I know, and you probably think, that $1k is WAY TOO MUCH budget for food. We typically spend ~$600/month on groceries but we also have budget for bought food. That $1k covers EVERY EDIBLE ITEM we’ll buy in November. I don’t have a goal yet, e.g. spend $500/month on food, because I believe that holidays and seasons play a part in our eating habits. We tend to spend less during cold months and go lax in the warm months.

I’m just happy that we’re really able to lower spending. We’re on the same boat and I’ve committed myself to cooking again.

One thought on “November in review

Leave a Reply

