One week of no dining out or buying take-outs


I can’t write enough about how pleased I am about this progress. I like to cook, it’s therapeutic, but there were days that I just can’t be bothered. I know that there WILL be days that I won’t be bothered cooking, and I’m hoping that those will be few and far in between. I think I got my cooking groove back.

Every day since last weekend, I have reflected on the reasons and circumstances why we ate in. I can account the change to planning better and having the determination to achieve our $15k emergency fund goal ASAP!

We have a plan to visit my family in Christmas 2012 and to save money on airfare, we HAVE to buy them in summer. This plan is budgeted for (at a minimum the budget can afford at $50) but because it depends on the completion of the $15k, it only has $100. 😦 We need at least $6k by August for airfare. That’s why I’m in a hurry to reach $15k to give us breathing room while saving for $6k. Just so you know, $6k is a liberal budget. I over-budget for things because over time I realized that there are things I just have no control over.

So far, we have spent $170 on groceries with some of the food bought still waiting to be cooked. Yesterday I cooked 2 entrees that will last us until Tuesday night I bet. 🙂 The good thing about Asian food is that the older they get, the better they taste. 🙂 I’m on a cooking roll and they are all delicious!

It’s true that budgeting, and anything money-related, is psychological. I don’t know why I didn’t feel like having Sunday brunch in a café when I typically think about it from Saturday afternoon. The house felt such a cozy place to be in yesterday morning. Our toddler went to a playdate for the most part of the afternoon, and J and I decided to watch pay-per-view movie. Instead of spending $20+ (not including gas, parking, and who knows what), we only spent $5. It just felt right to be home yesterday, but we had talked about going to a movie theater all week. We just decided on it an hour before play date started.

We’re going camping this weekend. We’ll sleep in a yurt. I’m actually looking forward to it and I’m not the camping type. We’ll be spending 3 nights in it and we’ll obviously need to pack food to cook and eat. That should be fun! I’ll try to remember to post pictures of camping when we get back. Below are links to very informative videos that even kids should watch I think.

Funny SNL folks.

Have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

