Rewards on using our debit card


Really???

After a solid 2 days of resolve to use cash for the month of November, we received a snail mail today informing us that we could earn reward points for using our debit card.

Great! :-S (I wish there were such a thing as sarcasm font.)

I’m not convinced to change resolve just yet because the options are:

  1. Earn half a point for every $100 spent using the card as debit
  2. One point for every $100 spent using the card as credit

So I checked our credit union‘s website to see the items they are trying us to lure with. Not much to get me oggling.

I thought about what it would cost local businesses if we started using our debit card as credit. I don’t know, and maybe I won’t attempt to find out. I’ve only used the debit card as credit on rare occasions. It doesn’t come automatically to me to use it that way. What’s the point of using a debit card as credit though? Do you know?

That said, I’ll probably stick to using cash for the most part of this month.

Leave a Reply

