No need to hurry


There’s no need to hurry when I’m making up my mind.” -Jason Mraz

Jason Mraz is my favorite artist. I like his music and the thoughts that come with his lyrics. That quoted lyric is from his song The Remedy. My take on the song is that it’s about not worrying about the little things and living life.

Whenever somebody follows up on something with me and I still haven’t made a decision yet, I almost always respond with that lyric. I don’t sing it though. 🙂

As I sit here in our dining bench with laptop on our dining table, I look around the house and there isn’t much to see. We only have the items we need. I don’t worry too much about keeping things in order. I can be a neat freak when I allow myself to be, but having less stuff has enabled me to see things, like mess, from a different perspective.

Apart from the fact that the mess would not quite end until my child is older, or until he moves out, it is a sign that we are living a life in this house. It looks lived in. I have been able to mentally differentiate clutter from mess.

Living with the basics, maybe even with less than 100 things, there is so much space to play in. It is easier to see which area needs cleaning, easier to locate things, and easier to evaluate what needs to be added.

Aaaaand, there really isn’t anything more that needs adding. I thought of getting ice cream bowls, but Jonno reminded me how many glasses we had in NZ that didn’t get used. He was right. So now I don’t want to buy them anymore but I still think about them. 🙂

We’re renting and we’re not in a hurry to get a house. We were homeowners before and we didn’t really do any improvements to the house until we decided to sell it. There was only 1 frame that we managed to hang on our bare walls and the hook was already there when we bought the house. It was obvious that we just wanted to live.

That’s what we’re doing now. Having a house to ourselves doesn’t have any relation to living. Having stuff doesn’t have any relation to it either. With money, we’re just saving for now. We both want to build our own home, but no reason to hurry to do that yet. We don’t want to take out a loan just to realize that.

Have I been content since I decided to take my time? Yes.

Leave a Reply

