It’s not a bargain if you don’t need it


Thanks to group marketing, everything from medical services to donuts can be bought for x% off. Some people think this new fad is draining people of money, some think it’s the way to go. Where you stand really lies on your need at the time the deal comes up.

Do I need $5 off a $10 value for donuts today? No. If I see a deal on anything, here are the questions I ask myself to validate its worth.

1. Is it relevant? Answering this question depends on my circumstances when the deal comes up. Is someone having a birthday? Do I want to give that person a gift? Am I planning to have my car professionally cleaned? Is it time for a much-needed mani/pedi? Have I been really really wanting a good massage? Is it time to go to the dentist? Have you been planning to do yoga?

2. Is it timely? My friend’s birthday isn’t for another 6 months, I think I could hold off. If you’re the kind of person who can remember things from months back, go ahead and buy a coupon gift. If not, wait until close to the day/time that you need it. I bet there are plenty of unused coupons out there. We have our Chinook Book sitting where we could see it everyday and I still manage to forget that we could use coupons in it to order pizza! Good thing it was gifted to us! 🙂 If you can make time for it within a month’s time, it’s probably a good deal. If you can’t, don’t buy it. Things change, plans change.

3. Is the cost not harmful to your budget? Deals don’t take into account if you had earmarked money for it. They have a way of making you feel that you have to get it now. The small-priced deals aren’t so bad, but any deal that costs $50 and above needs to have a place in your budget, or at least have some money saved for it. Also, don’t forget to take into account the effort (time and money) it would require of you to claim the deal. Ever bought a deal 3 hours away from where you live?

I have had moments when I felt the need to get that deal, but I paused for minutes to validate my feelings. I get my daily deals by email. I also have apps in my iPhone, but my style is to window-shop first.

It’s ok to splurge on yourself every now and again, just be careful that you’re not overspending on deals that you don’t really need. A bargain on cat food isn’t a bargain if you have a dog, you know.

Leave a Reply

