Teach a toddler: how to blow nose


When my toddler was about 6 months old, he had his first cold shortly after he started full-time child care away from home. I don’t remember much about teaching him how to blow his nose at that time, but I remember that by the time he turned 1 he was a pro at it!

Seeing children with snots forming the number 11 from their nostrils down to their lips is just sad because I know it’s possible to teach them to be clean and sanitary.

Before I taught him to blow his nose, I experimented with a snot sucker. Unless your heart is prepared to see the look in their eyes as you suck the air out of them, try it on yourself first.

And so I made it my mission to teach him to blow his nose properly. There is no special instruction, you just demonstrate how to blow your nose with the use of a tissue and say the word blow before and after you do it. Repeat a few times.

The thing with this “lesson” is that you can’t teach it everyday, only when they or any family member has cold. That’s why it’s more essential to me to teach nose-blowing as soon as your baby catches the cold bug.

A teacher at his previous school told me that my kiddo was the only child there who would ask for tissue so that he could blow his nose. He was 18 months or so at that time. Of course I was proud. 🙂

See that photo up there? You would never catch my son with those nasty 11s!

My kiddo was sick with cold and cough last week and we didn’t have any trouble keeping his nasal airways snot-free, not to mention maintaining his shirt clean. Our mission was to ensure we had easy access to tissue in the areas of the house where we hang out most of the time.

My observation tells me that this “lesson” isn’t on the top of the list to teach a kid. If it were, I would’ve seen few children with 11s parallel to their philtrum. It’s not sanitary and it’s not healthy to eat your snot. Isn’t it enough that some kids, my kiddo including, like the taste of their boogers?

One thought on “Teach a toddler: how to blow nose

Leave a Reply

